Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?  (Read 2945 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Ray_B

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    211
    • ***
    • Topic Author

    Offline Ray_B

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 211
    • Bike: '15 SE (ex '13 SE)
    • City / Town: Central New Jersey
    Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    on: Sep 05, 2019, 03.44 am
    Sep 05, 2019, 03.44 am
    I am looking for ideas to mount a switch up front for DRLs, etc.. I have a waterproof button switch on the left inside handlebar for my fork DRLs and want to mount another switch to control indicator housing DRLs.   I haven't had much luck sourcing waterproof switches like my existing sealed button but, odds are, I'll rarely turn off the new set so I'm open for other suggested switch locations.
    Ray

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9939
    • *****
      #1

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9939
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #1 on: Sep 05, 2019, 07.57 am
    Sep 05, 2019, 07.57 am
    Hi Ray_B,

    As you've found, the handlebars are tricky to mount switches onto due to their shape
    and the lack of room, but I managed to fit one of these onto the right side, with the bracket
    tucked in snugly between the handlebar and front brake master cylinder / reservoir :




    I also have some extra Daytime Running Lights, and have fitted independent switches for them.

    I haven't had chance to complete a "HOW TO" article, but I made a shelf out of angle aluminium,
    and shaped it to fit around the Sat Nav bracket - it is held in place sandwiched between
    the Triumph Sat Nav bracket, and the Garmin Cradle Mount.

    I painted it with Satin Black Hammerite aerosol paint to blend in. 

    A pair of cheap plastic project boxes house the switches, which have rubber waterproof
    covers over the toggles, and their LED Tell tale indicators on the right side,
    and on the left I installed a Voltmeter, and an LED Tell Tale that confirms my Brake Light is operating.

    In this location there is also plenty of weather protection from the screen.

    As everything is low current ( RDL's are LED's ) I was able to use relatively light gauge
    wiring, routed through the Sat Nav bracket for a neat installation.

    Here's the end result, and before anyone asks, NO - I can't make any more,
    but at least it should give you some ideas !  Sorry !




    Cheers  :821:


  • Offline tdragger   us

    • Trophy Master  ‐    582
    • ****
      #2

    Offline tdragger

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 582
    • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Fredericksburg
    • Country: us
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #2 on: Sep 05, 2019, 12.27 pm
    Sep 05, 2019, 12.27 pm
    The lower inside of the mirror housing is a good place to mount a switch.  Also, the front of the plastic tank cover has room for mounting essentially hidden switches.
    -------------------------------------
    15 Triumph Trophy SE (2019 IBR)
    16 Triumph Trophy SE (2021 IBR)
    IBA #609

  • Offline dandrumheller   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    194
    • ***
      #3

    Offline dandrumheller

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 194
    • Bike: 2015 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: Lebanon ME
    • Country: us
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #3 on: Sep 05, 2019, 02.05 pm
    Sep 05, 2019, 02.05 pm
    I haven't done this yet, but in my considerations when thinking about putting switchback DRLs in my indicators I have thought about including a toggle for the DRL side power feed.  My current plan if I did this would be to add a waterproof marine style toggle with a telltale in the up-sloping portion of the left side panel that also houses the fairing cubby/glovebox.  These are available inexpensively on amazon.  Worst case to revert to stock would be to replace the panel with the cubby. 
    2015 TTSE.  It's blue.

  • Offline Merlot

    • Trophy Member  ‐    83
    • **
      #4

    Offline Merlot

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Posts: 83
    • Bike: Triumph Trophy
    • City / Town: Southampton
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #4 on: Sep 13, 2019, 05.11 pm
    Sep 13, 2019, 05.11 pm
    Hi Coconut
    I see you have the Garmin Zumo 595 fitted.  Did you need to use a different bracket to mount the holder onto the Triumph sat nav mounting thingy?  Also, did you use Triumph's accessory wiring (here's the link https://www.worldoftriumph.com/partscatalog/catalog/listing/catalog/triumphmc/modelid/621910/block/100067521-1-2/ ) ?
    Also how different was the fitting to the 660?
    Thanks in advance....

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    9939
    • *****
      #5

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 9939
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #5 on: Sep 13, 2019, 05.44 pm
    Sep 13, 2019, 05.44 pm
    Did you need to use a different bracket to mount the holder onto the Triumph sat nav mounting thingy?

    Different to what ?

    If you mean the CRADLE which is fixed onto the Triumh GPS Mount, that the Sat Nav ciicks into,
    and are wondering if it is different to the Garmin 660 Cradle - YES - It is !



    The two are NOT compatible.

    I did use the Triumph Accessory cable as it plugs straight in to the dedicated "Clean" Power
    Supply Socket, without having to hack into any of the orginal Trophy Wiring Loom wiires.  :028:

    Cheers  :821:


  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    652
    • ****
      #6

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 652
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #6 on: Sep 13, 2019, 06.58 pm
    Sep 13, 2019, 06.58 pm
    As Coconut says, the 595 cradle is bigger than the 660 cradle, but swapping them is not a simple task as the cabling to the cradle cannot be detached at the cradle (it is epoxied in to the circuit board).  It would have been a good idea in some respects to have a plug in connection there, but the harness is slightly different.  Unfortunately, to change out the cradles involves removing the screen, mirror housings, instrument fascia and a lot of fannying on routing cables.  I've done it three times now  :003:
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs, a Vespa 300 and an MGB

  • Offline Jeffb   us

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    257
    • ***
      #7

    Offline Jeffb

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 257
    • City / Town: Columbus OH
    • Country: us
    Re: Where did you mount switches for DRLs, etc.?
    Reply #7 on: Oct 17, 2019, 04.16 am
    Oct 17, 2019, 04.16 am
    *Originally Posted by tdragger [+]
    The lower inside of the mirror housing is a good place to mount a switch. 

    I've done as tdragger suggested. The blue light is on only when the lights are on, and is not nearly as bright as it appears in the picture. It's push on/push off and waterproof.



    (Why are my pictures so much bigger than everyone else's??)