Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: TPMS apparent errors  (Read 2010 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    668
    • ****
    • Topic Author

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 668
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    TPMS apparent errors
    on: Jan 02, 2020, 06.46 pm
    Jan 02, 2020, 06.46 pm
    Normally, everything works hunky dory.  However, I've noticed in these much colder temperatures that the pressure readings on the display are lower by about 3 or 4 psi.  Before anyone tells me the pressures drop in colder temperatures, yes, I know that.  I'm referring to the differences between two different and separate pressure gauges I've used, compared to the Trophy screen readout.  The screen readout is lower.  In the autumn, when the ambient temperatures were higher, there was no such difference.

    So I'm just wondering, have other owners jumped on their bike recently and thought "Woah, I need to get some more air in those tyres" after looking at their screen readout?

    It may be you're putting in air where it isn't needed....
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs, a Vespa 300 and an MGB

  • Offline Ebenezer   nl

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    303
    • ***
      #1

    Offline Ebenezer

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 303
    • Bike: '14 TT Lunar Silver
    • City / Town: Apeldoorn
    • Country: nl
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #1 on: Jan 02, 2020, 08.30 pm
    Jan 02, 2020, 08.30 pm
    I didn't notice such a difference and belong to those who ride all year round.

    Henk

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    4913
    • *****
      #2

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4913
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2020, 10.25 pm
    Jan 02, 2020, 10.25 pm
    My sensors always register the same as my Tiretech gauge showed when I've checked them.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

  • Offline digital   es

    • Trophy God  ‐    2793
    • *****
      #3

    Offline digital

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2793
    • Trophy SE 1200
    • Bike: digital
    • City / Town: Barcelona
    • Country: es
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #3 on: Jan 03, 2020, 06.42 am
    Jan 03, 2020, 06.42 am
    I have not noticed a difference between what the TPMS and the compressor I have at home.

    I also travel all year.
    Only motorcyclists know why dogs stick their head out the car window.


  • Offline PhilInAthens   gr

    • Trophy Pro  ‐    288
    • ***
      #4

    Offline PhilInAthens

    • Trophy Pro
    • ***
    • Posts: 288
    • Bike: '14 Triumph Trophy
    • City / Town: Athens, GA
    • Country: gr
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #4 on: Jan 04, 2020, 03.08 pm
    Jan 04, 2020, 03.08 pm
    I too ride all year round. I sort of think of the TPMS as a nice"clue" as to what my pressures might be. They rarely match my tire gauge (s), but 'close enough for government work'.  Also, I have noticed that when it is colder out I get more frequent transient low battery warnings, but those clear quick enough.

  • Offline digital   es

    • Trophy God  ‐    2793
    • *****
      #5

    Offline digital

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2793
    • Trophy SE 1200
    • Bike: digital
    • City / Town: Barcelona
    • Country: es
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #5 on: Jan 04, 2020, 05.10 pm
    Jan 04, 2020, 05.10 pm
    Now that you mention the batteries, it could be a good cause for the batteries to be somewhat low in voltage.

    If the batteries are somewhat low amperage, with the cold, they usually give the warning.

    It could be that this makes that difference of those little reading differences.
    Only motorcyclists know why dogs stick their head out the car window.


  • Offline Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    668
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • #6

    Offline Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 668
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #6 on: Jan 04, 2020, 05.19 pm
    Jan 04, 2020, 05.19 pm
    It's a good suggestion, but in this case I replaced the front wheel sender battery last summer.  I soldered in a replacement CR2032 (with tabs) so it isn't that I don't think.  When it gets warmer I'll be able to see if the pressure readings come back into synch again.
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs, a Vespa 300 and an MGB

  • Offline digital   es

    • Trophy God  ‐    2793
    • *****
      #7

    Offline digital

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 2793
    • Trophy SE 1200
    • Bike: digital
    • City / Town: Barcelona
    • Country: es
    Re: TPMS apparent errors
    Reply #7 on: Jan 04, 2020, 11.10 pm
    Jan 04, 2020, 11.10 pm
    It is not clear to me if this reading difference occurs in both TPMS or only in one.

    If it is only in a TPMS, and, if it coincides in a same-day tire change. You could exchange both. (front to rear), of course, the instrument panel will give you some error. Then go to the dealer to enter the 8 hexadecimal numbers correctly.

    This confirms if there are any in poor condition.

    PD: If you decide to do this. Take pictures of the 8 hexadecimal numbers of each TPMS so that the dealer can interfere with the Triumph tool the numbers of the front and rear.
    Last Edit: Jan 04, 2020, 11.16 pm by digital
    Only motorcyclists know why dogs stick their head out the car window.