Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Topic: GPS harness  (Read 3639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • Offline motodude62

    • Trophy Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author

    Offline motodude62

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Bike: 2015 trophy SE
    • City / Town: Thousand oaks
    GPS harness
    on: Jan 06, 2020, 04.10 pm
    Jan 06, 2020, 04.10 pm
    So I put the GPS wire kit from triumph and followed the instruction on this site to install harness into my bike and now it stays on intermittently and kills my battery. There is no rime or reason for it. It ruined one brand new battery in a week so bad I had to replace it. The GPS worked fine on my other bike for years without a problem. 2015 SE
    was thinking about putting a voltage gauge somewhere. Any ideas I'm new to this bike and love it.
    Is this bike prone to electric problems? ??

    Help

  • Online Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    680
    • ****
      #1

    Online Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 680
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #1 on: Jan 06, 2020, 07.23 pm
    Jan 06, 2020, 07.23 pm
    What stays on intermittently?  The GPS unit?  It would help us suggest a solution if you could explain in more detail exactly what's happening?  If your battery was destroyed, is this because there is a continuous power draw that has taken the voltage down to the point of no return?
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs, a Vespa 300 and an MGB

  • Offline motodude62

    • Trophy Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #2

    Offline motodude62

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Bike: 2015 trophy SE
    • City / Town: Thousand oaks
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #2 on: Jan 06, 2020, 07.32 pm
    Jan 06, 2020, 07.32 pm
    The GPS unit stays on. it like 5.50 volts at the 2 connectors.

  • Online Novocastrian   gb

    • Trophy Master  ‐    680
    • ****
      #3

    Online Novocastrian

    • Trophy Master
    • ****
    • Posts: 680
    • Bike: TTSE
    • City / Town: Tynemouth
    • Country: gb
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #3 on: Jan 06, 2020, 07.43 pm
    Jan 06, 2020, 07.43 pm
    ...and are we talking about the wiring harness for the Garmin Zumo 660?  Is that the wiring kit you bought from Triumph?  I just want to be sure we know which piece of kit you have installed.
    Ken Hastie
    TTSE, a handful of BSAs, a Vespa 300 and an MGB

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10070
    • *****
      #4

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10070
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #4 on: Jan 06, 2020, 09.37 pm
    Jan 06, 2020, 09.37 pm
    Hi motodude62,

    The GPS ( "NAV" ) dedicated Power Supply is provided from the Audio Unit circuit.

    This sounds very much like a KNOWN problem with the first release of Audio Software
    for the US & Canadian Market Audio system ( only ) that has the XM Satellite Radio.

    The problem was that the Software would intermittently fail to shutdown when the Ignition
    was switched off and continued to draw power - draining the battery.

    The solution is simple - Check the Audio Software Version you have, as below.


    Turn the Ignition ON ( but don't start the engine ) and switch the Radio OFF
    ( Volume all the way down to Minimum, Mute and Off ).
    Turn the Ignition OFF, wait for everything to shut down, then turn it ON again
    without starting the engine.
    Press and hold the "P" button until the "DIAGNOSTICS" menu is displayed.
    Scroll to the S/W VERSION item, and press Select ( "i" ).

    The "old" Version was 1.04A - If this is what your Version is, then it explains your problem,
    and it needs updating to Version 1.04E.

    ALL Triumph USA / Canadian Dealers "should" know about this -
    IF they read all the Circulars from Triumph !

    A Number of Forum Members have had problems with Triumph US Dealers being unable to find
    the Software Update on their system, and this Topic was posted to explain to them how to find it ! :

    Where Triumph dealers can find audio software updates ( U.S. )

    The next hurdle you might encounter is a Dealer trying to charge a fee for the Software update,
    but if you can demonstrate that the Trophy has been serviced by a Triumph Dealer at any time
    since the Software Update was released ( as long ago at least as November 2014 ) then you would
    have good grounds for insisting you are not charged for the update as it should have been carried
    out as part of any normal Dealer Service, without additional cost, as it was a "fix" for a known issue.

    If you encounter any difficulties with this, send me a Private Message and I will give further advice.

    Meanwhile, until you get this sorted, when leaving the Trophy parked I recommend removing
    Fuse No.3 ( 10A ) from the Front Fusebox behind the left side cover, which is for the Audio System,
    and this will stop any further battery drainage from the Audio System when the Ignition is off.

    Cheers  :821:





    Last Edit: Jan 06, 2020, 09.43 pm by Coconut

  • Offline motodude62

    • Trophy Member  ‐    11
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • #5

    Offline motodude62

    • Trophy Member
    • **
    • Topic Author
    • Posts: 11
    • Bike: 2015 trophy SE
    • City / Town: Thousand oaks
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #5 on: Jan 10, 2020, 04.23 pm
    Jan 10, 2020, 04.23 pm
    So I have to get a 3rd battery for this bike. I can't charge it up enough to check the software info. It won't get past the calibration screen. I have a AGM High Performance Battery and it was down to 3.40 volts 2 times and it now has gone. 2 months.
    Cycle gear says that this is the best.

    Duraboost AGM High Performance Battery CTX20HL-BS

    SO what should I get now.

    Thanks for all the info on this site I love it!

  • Offline trophied   us

    • Trophy God  ‐    4980
    • *****
      #6

    Offline trophied

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 4980
    • Bike: 2013 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: New Braunfels, Tx
    • Country: us
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #6 on: Jan 10, 2020, 05.17 pm
    Jan 10, 2020, 05.17 pm
    You could always jump start it and get a charge in the battery enough to check which version audio software you have, and if it's the early version remove the fuse per coconut's suggestion until you can get it updated, hopefully for free, at a dealer.  Keep in mind the statement in coconut's post about being sure the dealer knows where to look in the system for the update if they're ignorant enough to not be aware of the problem.  Mine originally had the early version and it did indeed drain the battery.  It's an easy fix at a dealer.
    One of the Founding Members of the Twisted Trophies

  • Offline Coconut   gb

    • Trophy God  ‐    10070
    • *****
      #7

    Offline Coconut

    • Trophy God
    • *****
    • Posts: 10070
    • Bike: 2017 Trophy SE
    • City / Town: South Birmingham
    • Country: gb
    Re: GPS harness
    Reply #7 on: Jan 10, 2020, 05.24 pm
    Jan 10, 2020, 05.24 pm
    Definitely remove the Fuse, if you haven't already done so.

    The Calibration Process is for the TES ( Suspension )
    and it WILL struggle to complete that on a "dud" Battery.

    If I were a Betting Man I'd put good money on this being due to the Audio Software.

    Did you check about previous Service History at official Triumph Dealers
    as previously suggested ?

    If so and you can confirm they have NOT updated the Software -
    which you could confirm by connecting a Car battery with Jump Leads,
    you may be in a good position to try insisting that Triumph pay for your replacement battery !

    Cheers  :821:






    Last Edit: Jan 10, 2020, 08.10 pm by Coconut